Joe Lombardo
Governor

Nicole Canada, DC President Benjamin S. Lurie, DC Vice President Jason O. Jaeger, DC Secretary-Treasurer



Adam L. Ingles, DC
Member
Geoffrey D. Lowden, DC
Member
Christian L. Augustin, Esq.
Consumer Member
Reza R. Ayazi, Esq.
Consumer Member

Julie Strandberg
Executive Director

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN'S BOARD OF NEVADA

4600 Kietzke Lane, M-245 | Reno, Nevada 89502-5000 Phone: (775) 688-1921 | Fax: (775) 688-1920

Website: http://chirobd.nv.gov | Email: chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov

Business Entity Registration

Commencing January 1, 2022, some businesses or practices (hereinafter Business Entity) that offer chiropractic services must be registered with the Board. Business Entity applications are due to the Board at least 60 days prior to the implementation of the Business Entity. A copy of the Business Entity Statute and Rule is enclosed. It is recommended that the Business Entity carefully review these documents prior to submitting the registration application.

Business Entities That Must Register and Those That Are Not Required to Register

Exempt Businesses or Practices:

The following business or practices **are exempt** from registration:

- A business or practice wholly owned by one or more chiropractic physicians licensed by this Board, or a medical doctor or physician assistant licensed by the State Board of Medical Examiners, an osteopathic physician or physician assistant licensed by the Board of Osteopathic Medicine, or a combination of any of these. The type of entity (sole proprietorship, partnership, professional corporation, or professional limited liability company) does not matter as long as the entity is wholly owned by chiropractic physicians, medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, and/or physician assistants.
 - NOTE: Because Nevada is a community property state, where a chiropractic physician, medical doctor, osteopathic physician, of physician assistant are owners of a business, ownership by the spouses of any of these medical professionals shall be considered to be ownership by the medical professional spouse.
- An administrator or executor of the estate of a deceased chiropractic
 physician or a person who is legally authorized to act for a chiropractic
 physician who has been adjudicated to be incapacitated for not more than
 1 year after the date of the death or incapacitation of the chiropractic
 physician; or
- A medical facility licensed pursuant to chapter 449 of NRS.

Businesses or Practices Required to Register:

Any business or practice, regardless of what type of entity, that is not wholly owned by chiropractic physicians, medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, or physician assistants (in any combination), or that is otherwise exempt from registration pursuant to the above discussion, must register with the Board. Practically speaking, this includes:

- Publicly-traded corporations
- Non-public entities where any proportion of the ownership consists of people who are not chiropractic physicians, medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, or physician assistants.

Registration & Renewal:

To register with the Board, a Business Entity must:

• File a completed registration application.

Business Entity Registrations expire each year on June 1. To renew the registration, a business entity must submit a completed application for renewal on or before May 31. The Board will send a reminder to renew the registration no later than May 1 of each year.

Compliance:

Commencing January 1, 2022, a Business Entity must notify the Board within 30 days after any change in:

- Entity name, address or telephone number.
- Entity officers or directors.
- Doctor(s) of Chiropractic authorized to provide and responsible for providing or supervising the provision of chiropractic services in any facility.

Commencing January 1, 2022, the Business Entity must establish a written policy or procedure for the secure storage and transfer of the medical records of a patient and the access to those records by the patient. The policy and procedure must include procedures for:

- Notifying each patient of the location to which his or her medical records will be moved if the business entity ceases operations.
- Disposing of unclaimed medical records.
- Responding to a request by a patient or a representative of the patient for any copy of his or her medical records.
- Notify the Board later than 30 days after the dissolution of the business entity or the closing of any facility owned or operated by the business entity.

The Business Entity Registration must be conspicuously displayed at each location owned and operated. Business Entities are responsible to assure that all of their employed chiropractic physicians, chiropractor's assistants, and other employees

comply with all applicable Nevada statutes and regulations related to the practice of chiropractic.

Application for Business Entity Registration Instructions

- 1. Enter the name of the BUSINESS ENTITY.
- 2. Enter the name of a CONTACT PERSON who is authorized to receive and respond to all related correspondence on behalf of the Business Entity and to sign on behalf of the Owner/Officer/Director(s).
- 3. Enter the Email address for the Business Entity CONTACT PERSON.
- 4. Enter the TELEPHONE, FAX NUMBER and MAILING ADDRESS for the Business Entity CONTACT PERSON.
- 5. Enter the total number of PRACTICE LOCATIONS operated by the Business Entity.
- Enter the address, telephone and fax numbers for the PRIMARY practice location as well as for each ADDITIONAL practice location. (You may attach additional pages if necessary)
- 7. List the name and license number for EACH chiropractic physician working at EACH practice location. (You may attach additional pages if necessary)
- 8. Provide the total number of OWNERS/OFFICERS/DIRECTORS of the Business Entity.
- 9. List the name of any OFFICER or DIRECTOR of the business entity. (You may attach additional pages if necessary)